Life in Toronto

So, I’ve been out in Toronto for two years now and things are beginning to move forward. I finished my Bachelor of Education degree at York U, so I can now teach in the public school system. Hopefully, I can start working as a supply teacher next month!

I’ve also been playing out more and that has been rewarding, too. I have had the opportunity to work with Bruce Harvey and his friends and musical associates, (check out his two CD\’s, Dream Gypsy and Thoughts Without Words), and I have been meeting people through playing in a couple of community big bands, and another fun band put together by a former student of mine, Ewan Divitt, (great young trumpeter and writer/arranger).

The community band experience has resulted in my getting to collaborate frequently with a wonderful Brazilian guitarist (and super nice guy!), Henrique Matulis, in performing the music of Antonio Carlos Jobim and other Brazilian masters. A wonderful musical education for me!

Ewan continues to recommend me for various gigs, in addition to having me play in his jazz band and contribute the odd chart or two, and that is really helping to expand my options here, (for which I am very grateful)!

Onwards and upwards….

Leave a comment